So how does it go down when your time as Bond is up?

Landing the role of James Bond must be one massive almighty buzz… Imagine taking that call or having that meeting..  Only six men to have walked this earth have ever experienced that pleasure with EON Productions.  But on the flip side what happens when it’s time to move on?

I think we all know Sir Sean was feeling undervalued, type cast and severely underpaid. Well until Diamonds are Forever, when he got his mega payday and then went off into the sunset (Costa Del Sol, to be precise!).  George had a bad experience with the producers which neither side wanted to go through again and good old Sir Roger was happy to keep cashing his cheques until ultimately he decided that it was time to hang up the Walther PPK…

But what about Pierce and Tim? Have your tissues ready for Tim’s story, although expecting another four or five pictures from him was not realistic.

Pierce Brosnan recalls his moment…

I was in the Bahamas, working on a movie called After The Sunset and my agents called me up and said, «Negotiations have stopped. [Producers] Barbara and Michael are not quite sure what they want to do. They’ll call you next Thursday». I sat in Richard Harris’s house in the Bahamas, and Barbara and Michael were on the line: «we’re so sorry». She was crying, Michael was stoic and he said, «You were a great James Bond. Thank you very much», and I said, «Thank you very much. Goodbye.» That was it. «I was utterly shocked and just kicked to the curb with the way it went down.»

Timothy Dalton explains his exit…

Dalton waves away the idea that the fear of stagnation was a part of his relatively short tenure as 007. «That was my worry going into the James Bond franchise, certainly,» he explains. «But it wasn’t why I left.» That doesn’t mean he didn’t have some concerns about the franchise: «On License to Kill, I think I saw the script about two weeks before we started shooting. You know, that’s not great, is it?»

License to Kill wasn’t supposed to be his final James Bond movie; a third 007 movie, which would have starred Dalton, entered preproduction in 1990. «We had the script. They were interviewing directors. We were really rolling forward, ready to start. It was actually quite a good story, I thought»,  says Dalton. But a lengthy legal dispute between EON Productions and MGM delayed the film indefinitely — and gave Dalton an out. «Because of the lawsuit, I was free of the contract,» Dalton explains. «And [producer] Mr. Broccoli, who I really respected as a producer and as a friend, asked me what I was going to do when it was resolved. I said, “Look, in all honesty, I don’t think that I will continue.”He asked me for my support during that time, which of course, I gave him».

But when the lawsuit was resolved several years later, Dalton had a change of heart. «When [the next movie] did come about, it was probably four or five years » he explains. «Broccoli asked if I would come back, and I said, “Well, I’ve actually changed my mind a little bit. I think that I’d love to do one. Try and take the best of the two that I have done, and consolidate them into a third.”» And he said, quite rightly, «Look, Tim. You can’t do one. There’s no way, after a five-year gap between movies that you can come back and just do one. You’d have to plan on four or five. And I thought, oh, no, that would be the rest of my life. Too much. Too long. So I respectfully declined.»

One Comment Add yours

  1. This is just amazing!!! Congratulations Jason!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

